SPQR
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

World Map Specifications

2 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

World Map Specifications Empty World Map Specifications

Post  Toeholds Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:30 am

Since I'm not a graphic artist, I don't really know what I'm looking for other than 'something better', but here are some pointers:

Currently the map is 2116x1390 pixels wide, but I could go up to 3200x2000 quite happily.
The size of the hexes can be bigger (and in fact, should be, really).
I'd like the geographic features (mountains, rivers etc..) to be represented, but not in a way that makes the map too busy. Filetype can be anything really, it'll be flattened to a .png at the end of the day anyway.

I've included 2 files; the current map file that I have as an .xcf (gimp) file with the work in layers, and another shot showing what area of the world I ideally want to represent. I'm always available to answer any questions but in the end I'd rather discussion took place there since then everyone else can see it.

Hello all (one?),

I like maps, so I figure I'll give the map a try. I have a number of other projects on the go, and this seems like a recursively exploratory effort, so this will take a few weeks.

I could not open the .xcf, but from your email, it seems like the hex-grid is baked into the image. Is that the right thing to do? I would have thought you would want the lay the grid in at game-time - for example, if you want to blink the grids (or color them) down the road to represent information.

Regardless, I see this as vector work (initially). That would give us the greatest flexibility in stylistic changes. The polishing touches would be on the rasterized image, and depending on whether you'd like a "traditional media" look, we can touch it up in PS/painter. What look would you ideally like anyway? Are there samples of artwork that comes close to what you'd like to see?

Toeholds.